Boise Idaho

 

Frequently Asked Questions

If you would like to see a specific topic addressed on this page please contact Sandy Bly at the Board office!

 CPE  EXAM   LICENSING  

FIRM REGISTRATION  LICENSE RENEWAL   

  

CPE

 

I am a NEW Idaho CPA licensee.  What is my CPE requirement and how do I report my CPE to the Board?

New licensees must complete an Idaho State Specific Ethics course of at least 2 hours during the first calendar year that they are licensed. Any Idaho State Specific Ethics course from a provider on the NASBA registry or the Idaho Society of CPA's will be acceptable for CPE Ethics credits. Once you complete the Idaho Ethics course, access the online CPE reporting link with your CP-XXXX and your PIN. Upon successful reporting of this course you will be granted 50 CPE credits for the calendar year in which the course was taken.
For the first year, you will only report Ethics CPE taken AFTER you have become licensed.  The 8 credit AICPA Ethics course required to become licensed does not count toward your CPE requirement.  Once you complete your online form listing the State Specific Ethics and any additional Ethics courses taken, click “Next” and follow the directions for submitting your CPE report.  Remember to print a copy of the report for your files and as your receipt before closing the window or clicking on the EXIT button.  Once the CPE report is submitted, you will not be able to access it again. 

How do I retreive my PIN? You can retrieve it by clicking on “Retrieve Pin” on the CPE reporting web site if the Board has your current e-mail address on file OR E-mail isba@isba.idaho.gov.

The Ethics requirement is a component of the CPE requirement, not in addition to it. 

The CPE requirement for every two year "rolling" period is 80 or more CPE credits of which 4 must be in Ethics in any rolling two year period. 
The current year and the previous year must equal 80 credits (of at least 4 hours are ethics - a minimum of 30 and a maximum of 50 in any year)

What courses qualify for Ethics CPE?

Any course that specifies it is in Ethics will count toward the CPE Ethics requirement. (First year licensees are required to take an Idaho specific ethics course which includes Idaho laws and rules). 

When is CPE reporting due?

Although CPE is on a calendar year, your online report is considered timely if it is dated on or before January 31 of the next year. Online CPE reporting is available all year.  

The completion date on your CPE certificate indicates the CPE year in which the course will qualify.  (Care should be taken when taking online courses late in the calendar year as the certificate may be dated January 1 or later of the following year, thus making it ineligible.) 

Who do I contact if I have a question about CPE?

If you want to know what your CPE requirement is for the year, access your personal online CPE report at:  https://idboa.glsuite.us/GLSuiteWeb/Clients/IDBOA/Private/CPEReporting/Login.aspx
Login with your License Number and personal PIN ----- you will see what you submitted the past year and what you owe for the present year up at the top of the form.
If you have a question regarding CPE, call the Board office at 208-334-2490.

Can the Board office tell me if a course qualifies for CPE credit?  

No, however courses that have earned QAS (Quality Assurance Service) self-study approval, are NASBA (National Association of State Boards of Accountancy) certified or are sponsored the by the Idaho Society of CPA's will qualify for CPE credit.  It is the licensee’s responsibility to determine whether a course meets those standards.  If you are unsure whether a course will qualify you should contact the course sponsor for confirmation that their course meets these standards.

If a course is “QAS Self-Study” or “NASBA Registry” approved, what does that mean? 

QAS Self-Study and NASBA Registry courses have undergone procedures by NASBA to receive this approval. National Registry of CPE.

What is nano learning?

A tutorial program designed to permit a participant to learn a given subject in a 10-minute time frame through the use of electronic media (including technology applications and processes and computer-based or web-based technology) and without interaction with a real-time instructor. A nano learning program differs from a self-study program in that it is typically focused on a single learning objective and is not paper-based. A nano learning program is not a group program. Nano learning is not a substitute for comprehensive programs addressing complex issues.

Nano learning programs must use instructional methods that clearly define a minimum of one learning objective, guide the participant through a program of learning, and provide evidence of a particpant's satisfactory completion of the program. Satisfactory completion of the program must be confirmed at the conclusion of the program through a qualified assessment.

How is CPE calculated for nano learning?

Credits must be awarded as one-fifth credit (0.2 credit). A 20-minute program would have to be produced as two stand-alone learning programs.

CPE credit for Nano learning programs must be based on duration of the program plus the qualified assessment, which when combined, should be a minimum of 10 minutes. However, one-fifth (0.20 credit) CPE credit is the maximim credit to be awarded for a single nano learing program.

What is blended learning? An educational program incorporating multiple learning formats.
How is CPE calculated for blended learning? Sponsored learning activities are measured by actual program length, with one 50-minute period equal to one CPE credit. A minimum of one full credit must be awarded initially, but after the first full credit has been earned, credits may be awarded in one-fifth increments or in one-half increments (1.0, x.2, x.4, x.5, x.6, x.8, and so on).
Where can I find QAS Self-Study, blended learning and nano learing courses that are on the NASBA registry?  

A good resource is the National Registry of CPE.  It lists a variety of sponsors and courses.  The site gives information on individual courses and whether the course is interactive, non-interactive, QAS Self-Study or NASBA Registry approved, recommended CPE credit, etc.

If I am requesting credit for writing an article, book, or CPE program for publication, what do I need to submit to the Board?  

To receive CPE credit, an independent party must formally review your work before it is published.  When you submit your CPE report, you must also submit a statement from the reviewer verifying that the review was performed, and a published copy of the work.  The CPE Committee reviews all submissions to determine credit eligibility.  You can only receive credit in the year the work was published.

Do I need to have a certificate of completion for every course I take?

 

Yes.  If the Board requests verification of the course and you do not have it, credit for that course may be denied.  Certificates, signed by the instructor or sponsor, must verify that you personally attended the class, date, hours, class title, instructor, and sponsor information.  You must keep documentation for five years.

If I have instructed a course or was a speaker at a seminar, what sort of verification do I need in order to obtain credit?  

You must have verification from the sponsor stating that you were the instructor or speaker, the course date, course title, the delivery method, the credit recommended along with the contact information for the sponsor. .

If my company provides me with a printout of the CPE courses I have taken throughout the year in which they have sponsored, Is this sufficient documentation?

Yes, the printout would have to be signed and dated by a partner, supervisor or company CPE coordinator verifying the accuracy of the report in order to be considered appropriate documentation.

Does in-firm training, firm sponsored training or a firm meeting automatically qualify for CPE credit?  

No.  Portions of firm meetings dealing with firm business do not qualify as CPE.  Firm training will not automatically qualify simply because there is a sign-in sheet or document verifying your attendance.  It must meet the same CPE standards as courses taken outside the firm or company.

What happens if credit is denied for one of my courses or if I do not complete my required CPE credits by December 31?

The Board may grant extensions of time to complete your required credits for reasons of health or other good cause.  Penalty hours may be assessed on extensions.

Who must comply with the State Specific Ethics requirement?
  • Applicants for licensure (exam, reciprocity or transfer of grades) - during the first calendar year of their license.
  • Reinstatement or Re-entry applicants for an active license must complete the course prior to submitting their application.

IDAHO STATE SPECIFIC ETHICS COURSE Any Idaho specific ethics course from a sponsor on the NASBA registry or the Idaho Society of CPA's will be acceptable.

As with any course, it is up to the licensee to take credit for a course only once in any 3 year period or after the course has been changed or updated.

A sampling of providers include but are not limited to the following:

ISCPA's Idaho State-Specific Ethics - "The Revised AICPA Code of Professional Conduct"
WebinarMasterCPE LLC (Ethics for Idaho)
Pass Online aka Checkpoint Learning - formerly Positive Systems (Ethics for Idaho CPA's)
Professional Education Services, LP (Ethics & Professional Conduct for Idaho CPA's)
Western CPE (Ethics & Professional Conduct for Idaho CPA's)

 

 

 

 

 

Exam

Which application form should I use?

Applicants who have never taken the examination as an Idaho candidate, or who have taken the examination as a candidate of another jurisdiction will need to complete the CPA Exam Application Packet. 

The Re-Exam application form is to be used by candidates who took the CPA Examination as an Idaho candidate at their most recent sitting. 

How many sections of the exam should I apply for?

You should apply for sections you anticipate taking during a 6 month period.  NASBA will bill you for ALLsections that you indicate on your application, and issue an NTS for those sections after full payment.   The 6 month period begins the day NASBA receives your payment for the exam(s). 

How much will the computerized examination cost?

The Board will collect the application fee of $100 for initial or transferred applicants and $50 for re-exam applicants.  Other fees are payable to NASBA.  See this section for Computer Based Testing fees.

What will the deadlines be for the examination?

Application deadlines will be eliminated, allowing candidates to apply at any time of year. Once an application is approved, candidates will be notified of the time period in which they may schedule appointments with a test center.

What if a conflict arises after I have scheduled an appointment to take the examination?

You may reschedule your appointment at no charge as long as you reschedule at least 30 days in advance. If you reschedule between 5 and 30 days before your appointment, you must pay a nominal fee directly to Prometric - If you reschedule within 5 days of your appointment, you will have to pay the full Prometric fee for the section you are rescheduling.

Are there any restrictions on taking the examination outside of my jurisdiction?

We do not anticipate any restrictions. One of the benefits of the computer-based examination is that a testing center outside of the state may be in a city much closer to a candidate then a test center within the state. However, a person may not be a candidate for more than one state at the same time and will not be able to bypass a state's educational or licensing requirements by taking the examination outside of the state in which he or she is seeking to become licensed.

What is the cost of taking the examination outside my jurisdiction?

Additional charges for taking the examination outside of your jurisdiction are not anticipated. There will be an additional surcharge for the Guam Test Center.

May I still take the examination outside of my jurisdiction?

Yes. You may schedule your examination at any Prometric site.

Once I apply to take the examination, how long before I can actually take the examination?

The time will vary for each jurisdiction and will depend upon whether you are a first-time applicant or a re-examination applicant. First-time applicants must have educational eligibility determined, so the process will take a few weeks. Re-examination applicants should be able to register and will be sent a notice to schedule the examination as soon as the Board office is able to process your request. 

How will I schedule an examination appointment?

You will apply for the examination with this office.  

After you have been determined eligible to sit for the examination, the Board will send an Authorization To Test (ATT) to NASBA. The ATT is valid for a period of 90 days.    

NASBA will send you an invoice for the test sections.  The fees must be paid prior to expiration of the ATT.  Once you have paid the appropriate fee, NASBA will send a Notice to Schedule (NTS). 

You will then call Prometric to schedule a testing appointment(s). The NTS will remain valid for a period of six months. That means you will have a set period of time from the date the NTS is issued to schedule and take the examination sections(s) for which you have applied. 

What educational requirements must I meet to qualify to sit for the Uniform CPA  Exam?

A baccalaureate degree or its equivalent, which includes 30 or more semester hours in business administration subjects from a college or university, of which at least 20 semester hours shall be in the study of accounting subjects.  Additional education requirements are necessary for licensing.

How much time will I have to complete each examination section? Each exam section is 4 hours.
What are the sections of the CPA exam?

The sections are as follows:

  • Auditing & Attestation. This section covers knowledge of auditing procedures, generally accepted auditing standards and other standards related to attest engagements, and the skills needed to apply that knowledge in those engagements.
  • Financial Accounting & Reporting. This section covers knowledge of generally accepted accounting principles for business enterprises, not-for-profit organizations, and governmental entities, and the skills needed to apply that knowledge.
  • Regulation. This section covers knowledge of federal taxation, ethics, professional and legal responsibilities, and business law, and the skills needed to apply that knowledge.
  • Business Environment & Concepts.  This section covers knowledge of general business environment and business concepts that candidates need to know in order to understand the underlying business reasons for and accounting implications of business transactions, and the skills needed to apply that knowledge.
What are simulations? A simulation can be defined as an “assessment of knowledge and skills in context approximating that found on the job through the use of realistic scenarios and tasks, and access to normally available and familiar resources”. Simply put, simulations are condensed case studies that will test candidates’ knowledge and skills using real life work-related situations. Each simulation is approximately 30-50 minutes in length and will complement the multiple-choice portion of the examination. Each exam section, except Business Environment and Concepts, will initially include two simulations.All simulations are intended to assess knowledge and skills that are appropriate to expect of an entry-level accountant.

Is my college or university recognized by the Board?

The Board shall recognize: Any college or university accredited by the Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges (NASC) or any other regional accrediting association having the equivalent standards;

Any independent senior college in Idaho certified by the State Department of Education for teacher training, and;

Accounting and business programs accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business(AACSB) or any other accrediting agency having equivalent standards.   


 

 

 

Licensing

I have passed the Uniform CPA Examination as an Idaho candidate, what else do I need to do to become licensed?  

You must submit your experience on forms approved by the Board and the "Application for License".  You are also required to successfully complete a course in ethics. You must also meet the 150 hour education requirement unless otherwise exempt. 

Experience:  One year is required, either full time or part time, that extends over a period of no less than 12 months and no more than 36 months and includes no fewer than 2,000 hours. Experience must be obtained within the 10 years period immediately preceding the application for license.  Experience must be verified by a licensee who held a current and active license at the time the experience was obtained.  

An applicant shall be deemed to have met the education requirement for licensure if, as part of the one hundred fifty (150) semester hours of education, the applicant has met any one (1) of the following four (4) conditions:       

1) Earned a graduate degree with a concentration in accounting from a program that is accredited in accounting by an accrediting agency approved by the Board;  

2) Earned a graduate degree from a program that is accredited in business by an accrediting agency approved by the Board and completed at least twenty-four (24) semester hours in accounting at the undergraduate or fifteen (15) semester hours at the graduate level, or an equivalent combination thereof, including coverage of, but not necessarily separate courses in, the subjects of financial accounting, auditing, taxation, and management accounting;         

3) Earned a baccalaureate degree from a program that is accredited in business by an accrediting agency approved by the Board and completed twenty-four (24) semester hours in accounting at the undergraduate or graduate level including coverage of, but not necessarily separate courses in, the subjects of financial accounting, auditing, taxation, and management accounting; and completed at least twenty-four (24) semester hours in business courses (other than accounting courses) at the undergraduate or graduate level; or        

4) Earned a baccalaureate or higher degree and completed at least twenty-four (24) semester hours in accounting at the upper division or graduate level at an institution approved by the Board and including coverage of, but not necessarily separate courses in, the subjects of financial accounting, auditing, taxation, and management accounting; and completed at least twenty-four (24) semester hours in business courses (other than accounting courses) at the undergraduate or graduate level.               

Is the first license pro-rated?

No, the licensing period is July 1st thru June 30th and the cost for the first year license is the same regardless of the issue date.  

I am an out-of-state CPA and I have an Idaho client, do I need to be licensed?

A person whose principal place of business is not in this state and who has an active certificate and license as a certified public accountant from any state which the board has determined to be substantially equivalent to this chapter shall be presumed to have qualifications substantially equivalent to this state's requirements and shall have all the privileges of licensees of this state without the need to obtain a license.  A person whose principal place of business is not in this state and who has an active certificate and license as a certified public accountant from any state which the board has not determined to be substantially equivalent, shall be presumed to have qualifications substantially equivalent to this state's requirements and shall have all the privileges of licensees of this state without the need to obtain a license only if such person demonstrates that his or her qualifications are substantially equivalent to the licensure requirements of Idaho.  The requirement to demonstrate substantially equivalent qualifications shall be waived if the applicant has been licensed for no less than four (4) years as a certified public accountant within the previous ten (10) years.

Mobility

A majority of states have adopted mobility legislation – which is a practice privilege that generally permits a licensed CPA in good standing, who meets substantial equivalency requirements, to practice in jurisdictions outside of his or her principal place of business without obtaining another license.

Idaho has adopted mobility as of July 1, 2008. Idaho has eliminated its requirement of “Notice and Fee” for Practice Privileges effective July 1, 2008.

There are three ways in which licensees from other jurisdictions qualify to practice in Idaho under substantial equivalency:

1) A person whose principal place of business is not in this state and who has an active certificate and license as a certified public accountant from any state which the board has determined to be substantially equivalent to this chapter shall be presumed to have qualifications substantially equivalent to this state's requirements and shall have all the privileges of licensees of this state without the need to obtain a license; or

2) A person whose principal place of business is not in this state and who has an active certificate and license as a certified public accountant from any state which the board has not determined to be substantially equivalent to this chapter shall be presumed to have qualifications substantially equivalent to this state's requirements and shall have all the privileges of licensees of this state without the need to obtain a license only if such person demonstrates that his or her qualifications are substantially equivalent to the licensure requirements of this chapter; or

3) The requirement to demonstrate substantially equivalent qualifications shall be waived if the applicant has been licensed for no less than four years as a certified public accountant within the previous ten yearsLicensees who qualify under one of these three scenarios, and who offer services in Idaho or to Idaho clients, are subject to the regulatory authority of the Idaho State Board of Accountancy. The Board may administrative penalize the licensee of another jurisdiction for violations of Idaho’s Accountancy Act and Rules. Information on disciplinary action by ISBA will be provided to the home state of licensure, and may be used as a basis for regulatory action in that state.

I have decided to place my license in inactive status, what will be required if I decide to later reinstate my license?  

You will be required to complete 80 hours of continuing professional education in the 12 months prior to applying for reinstatement.  You will need to provide appropriate documentation of these hours along with the Application for Reinstatement.  You will also be required to pay the appropriate fees.

How do I order the ethics course?

Contact the AICPA at 1-800-862-4272 or order online

Effective July 1, 2002 150 semester credits are required prior to licensure, does this apply to me if I sat for the examination prior to July 1, 2002?

Idaho Code 54-207 (3) states that the Board may adopt rules allowing persons who met the education requirements of Section 54-208 when they first sat for the examination to become licensed even though they do not meet the education requirements of section 54-207 (150 semester hours).  

Rule 300.01a states in part that an applicant for licensure who was accepted for the May 2000 CPA Examination or prior examination does not have to fulfill additional educational requirements beyond those required as the time of acceptance to sit for the CPA examination.

What are the educational requirements prior to licensure?

Semester Hours:  An applicant for licensure must have at least one hundred fifty (150) semester hours of college education including a baccalaureate or higher degree conferred by a college or university acceptable to the Board. An applicant for licensure who was accepted for the May 2000 CPA Examination or prior examination does not have to fulfill additional educational requirements beyond those required at the time of acceptance to sit for the CPA Examination.       

Accreditation:

The Board shall recognize:        

Any college or university accredited by the Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges (NASC) or any other regional accrediting association having the equivalent standards;

Any independent senior college in Idaho certified by the State Department of Education for teacher training, and;        

Accounting and business programs accredited by the American Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) or any other accrediting agency having equivalent standards.     

Education Requirement:

An applicant shall be deemed to have met the education requirement if, as part of the one hundred fifty (150) semester hours of education, the applicant has met any one (1) of the following four (4) conditions:    

        1)  Earned a graduate degree with a concentration in accounting from a program that is accredited in accounting by an accrediting agency approved by the Board;  

       2) Earned a graduate degree from a program that is accredited in business by an accrediting agency approved by the Board and completed at least twenty-four (24) semester hours in accounting at the undergraduate or fifteen (15) semester hours at the graduate level, or an equivalent combination thereof, including coverage of, but not necessarily separate courses in, the subjects of financial accounting, auditing, taxation, and management accounting;          

    3) Earned a baccalaureate degree from a program that is accredited in business by an accrediting agency approved by the Board and completed twenty-four (24) semester hours in accounting at the undergraduate or graduate level including coverage of, but not necessarily separate courses in, the subjects of financial accounting, auditing, taxation, and management accounting; and completed at least twenty-four (24) semester hours in business courses (other than accounting courses) at the undergraduate or graduate level; or        

       4) Earned a baccalaureate or higher degree and completed at least twenty-four (24) semester hours in accounting at the upper division or graduate level at an institution approved by the Board and including coverage of, but not necessarily separate courses in, the subjects of financial accounting, auditing, taxation, and management accounting; and completed at least twenty-four (24) semester hours in business courses (other than accounting courses) at the undergraduate or graduate level.       

When does my license expire?

The expiration date for a CPA or LPA license is June 30th.  Renewal is required on an annual basis no later than July 1st.

What forms of payment are acceptable for licensing?

The Board currently accepts checks, cash and money orders.  You can also renew your license online with a credit card payment. 

Who can prepare a “Financial Statement” for a Public Works license? 

The correct answer is based upon the class of license.  If the public works license is a class C or D, a Financial Statement using the Safe Harbor language prepared by a non-peer reviewable CPA or LPA would be fine.  If the license is class B, A, AA, AAA or U a peer reviewable CPA or LPA must complete the Audit, Review or Compilation required for the license. 

           

License Renewal

When does my license expire?

All CPA and LPA licenses expire June 30th of every year.  Renewal must be paid no later than July 1st to avoid the late fee.  If your renewal is postmarked by the US Postal Service no later than July 1st, a late fee will not be incurred.    

Can I renew my license with a credit card or a P card?

Yes, the Board accepts this form of payment with online license renewals only.

Can I renew my license online?

Yes, the Board offers online license renewals

 

  

Firm Registration

This section is currently under construction.