
License Renewal 

Licenses expire each year on June 30th.  Idaho 
offers online license renewal.   

License Renewal Fees: 

            Active License              $120.00 

            Inactive License            $100.00 

            Retired License            $100.00 

 

State Specific Ethics 
 
Who must complete the State Specific Ethics 
course?  

• Newly licensed in Idaho on or after July 1, 
2008;  

• Licensed via reciprocity or transfer of grades in 
Idaho on or after July 1, 2008;  

• Reinstated an Active license in Idaho on or 
after July 1, 2008; or  

• Re-entered as an Active licensee in Idaho on 
or after July 1, 2008.  

 
The Idaho State-Specific Ethics CPE course is a free 
two-hour course presented by the Board’s 
Executive Director covering relevant topics from 
the Idaho Accountancy Act and Rules. You are able 
to register to view the archived version of this 
course at a date of your choosing, but the course 
must be completed in the year in which you were 
licensed in any of the situations shown above. 
Please be aware the archived version is considered 
Non-Interactive Self-Study. While the Idaho State 
Board of Accountancy accepts the CPE hours, 
other State Boards of Accountancy may not 
approve the hours. The course was presented 
before a live audience in Boise. You may view the 
course as a webcast on the Internet at your home 
or office computer.  

Continuing Professional Education  

All active licensees are required to report their 
Continuing Professional Education credits for the 
preceding calendar year annually by January 31st.  
All active licensees (except as specifically excepted 
in Rule 502 of the Idaho Accountancy Rules) are 
required to participate in a total of eighty (80) 
hours of qualifying education in the two calendar 
years immediately preceding the date the report is 
required. There is a minimum requirement of at 
least thirty (30) hours in any one calendar year, 
and a maximum of fifty (50) hours recorded in any 
one calendar year.  
Idaho has an ethics CPE Requirement for all active 
licensees. It is a rolling total of 4 CPE credits of 
Ethics included in (not added to) the rolling total 
of 80 or more CPE credits. Within this require-
ment, new, reciprocal, reinstated or re-entry li-
censees must show they have obtained 2 credits 
of Idaho state specific ethics CPE within the first 
year of licensure on their CPE report. Existing li-
censees may also include the Idaho State Specific 
Ethics CPE, but are not required to do so. Visit 
our web site for information on how to sign up 
for this free course.  
 

Firm Registration 

Idaho offers online firm registration.   
 
All firms providing compilation, review, and audit 
services must enroll with an approved Administer-
ing Organization for a Peer Review.   Failure to 
enroll and undergo a Peer Review when required 
will result in a penalty for each act of non-
compliance.  
 
Licenses will not be renewed if Firm Registration 
requirements are not met.  
 
The annual firm registration fee is $25.00 for a 
firm with one licensee plus $5.00 for each addi-
tional licensee with a maximum fee of $200.00.   
Failure to register your Firm by September 30th 
will result in a penalty.  
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Licensure 

To be licensed as a CPA in Idaho, the following require-
ments must be met: 

• Successful completion of all four sections of the Uni-
form CPA Examination within 18 months 

• One year of accounting experience which includes a 
minimum of 2000 hours and must be verified by a CPA 
who was actively licensed to practice during the ex-
perience.  An Idaho LPA may also supply verification.  

• A Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited col-
lege or university and 150 semester credits which in-
cludes at least 24 semester credits in business and 24 
semester credits in accounting.  The accounting credits 
must have covered the subjects of financial, audit, man-
agement and tax accounting.  

• Successful completion of the AICPA’s Ethics Exam.* 

• Criminal History background check. 

If a candidate has passed the exam in another jurisdiction, 
they can apply for an Idaho CPA License by Transfer of 
Grades. 

If a candidate has been licensed in another jurisdiction, they 
may apply for a reciprocal license.  If the applicant for li-
cense by reciprocity has no less than 4 years of experience 
during the last ten years, they are not required to submit 
official transcripts and are not required to have a licensee 
verify their experience.        

 

License Fees: 

Initial License                                                   $120.00 

Wall Certificate (optional)                                 $  20.00 

Reciprocity Fee                                                $175.00 

Grade Transfer Fee                                           $175.00 

* The AICPA Ethics exam fee is payable to the 
AICPA.   

All licensure application forms including the experi-
ence form(s) are available on our web site.   

Uniform CPA Exam 

The Uniform CPA Exam is a computer based test com-
prised of four parts.   
Audit & Attestation 
Business Environment & Concepts               
Financial Accounting & Reporting                
Regulation           
The exam is offered the first two months of each quar-
ter.  To be eligible, a candidate must meet the following 
requirements: 

• Be at least 18 years of age 

• Must be a  resident of Idaho 

• Must have a bachelor’s degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university with a minimum of 
30 semester credits in business (20 of those must 
be in accounting)  

• Must be of good moral character (a criminal back-

ground check is required),      

The passing score for each section is 75.  All sections 
must be passed within an 18 month period.   

Candidates apply with the State Board and pay the appli-
cation fee.  As an Idaho candidate, you can take the exam 
at any Prometric Testing Center in the USA.  NASBA 
bills the candidate for the exam.  For detailed informa-
tion and application forms, visit our web site at 
isba.idaho.gov or NASBA’s cpa exam web site at 
www.cpa-exam.org.   

Application Fees: 

Initial Exam Application                       $100.00 

Re-Exam Application                           $  50.00 

Exam Fees: 

Candidates will be billed by NASBA for the testing 
fees.  Fee information is available on our web site at: 

http://www.isba.idaho.gov/htm/cpaexam.htm#Testin
gFees 

 

Mobility 
 
A majority of states have adopted mobility legislation – 
which is a practice privilege that generally permits a licensed 
CPA in good standing, who meets substantial equivalency 
requirements, to practice in jurisdictions outside of his or 
her principal place of business without obtaining another 
license. 
 
Idaho has adopted mobility as of July 1, 2008.  Idaho has elimi-
nated its requirement of “Notice and Fee” for Practice Privileges 
effective July 1, 2008.  

There are three ways in which licensees from other juris-
dictions qualify to practice in Idaho under substantial 
equivalency: 

1) A person whose principal place of business is not in this 
state and who has an active certificate and license as a cer-
tified public accountant from any state which the board 
has determined to be substantially equivalent to this chap-
ter shall be presumed to have qualifications substantially 
equivalent to this state's requirements and shall have all 
the privileges of licensees of this state without the need to 
obtain a license; or 

2) A person whose principal place of business is not in this 
state and who has an active certificate and license as a cer-
tified public accountant from any state which the board 
has not determined to be substantially equivalent to this 
chapter shall be presumed to have qualifications substan-
tially equivalent to this state's requirements and shall have 
all the privileges of licensees of this state without the need 
to obtain a license only if such person demonstrates that 
his or her qualifications are substantially equivalent to the 
licensure requirements of this chapter; or  

3) The requirement to demonstrate substantially equiva-
lent qualifications shall be waived if the applicant has been 
licensed for no less than four years as a certified public 
accountant within the previous ten years.  

Licensees who qualify under one of these three scenarios, 
and who offer services in Idaho or to Idaho clients, are 
subject to the regulatory authority of the Idaho State 
Board of Accountancy. The Board may administrative pe-
nalize the licensee of another jurisdiction for violations of 
Idaho’s Accountancy Act and Rules. Information on disci-
plinary action by ISBA will be provided to the home state 
of licensure, and may be used as a basis for regulatory ac-
tion in that state. 
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