
IDAHO STATE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 
INFORMATION FOR INITIAL APPLICANTS  

UNIFORM CPA EXAMINATION 
 
 

APPLICATION FORMS 
 
 
This application is to be used for first-time (initial) applicants only. Be sure you have received the current form. 
INITIAL applications must be completed by applicants who: 

 Have never taken the examination as candidates of this state; 

 Have previously taken the examination as candidates in another state but who have not earned credit; 

 Have previously taken the examination as candidates of another state and wish to transfer credit to Idaho. 
Applicants who have previously applied for or taken the examination for other jurisdictions must complete an initial application form. 
Applicants in this category must arrange for the transfer of their scores and/or information from the original jurisdiction to the Idaho 
State Board of Accountancy. These scores may be accepted by the Idaho Board in lieu of examination of subjects passed, provided the 
state has standards and requirements at least equivalent to the requirements of the Idaho State Board of Accountancy. An 
"Authorization for Interstate Exchange of Examination and Licensure Information" form will be necessary.  This form is available from 
our web site at: www.isba.idaho.gov . 

 

APPLICATION FEES 

The Idaho State Board of Accountancy requires all initial candidates to pay a $100 application fee payable to the Idaho State Board of 
Accountancy. This fee will not be refunded.  Include this fee when submitting your application. 

and 

The National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) requires additional testing fee(s).  Their fee information is located 
on our web site at http://www.isba.idaho.gov/htm/cpaexam.htm#TestingFees  DO NOT SEND THIS FEE TO THE BOARD OFFICE.  
You will be billed by NASBA for this fee after the Idaho State Board of Accountancy has issued your Authorization to Test.  You will be 
billed for ALL sections you apply for and you will have six months from the date NASBA receives your payment to complete 
ALL of the sections. Testing fees are NOT refunded. There is no provision for withdrawing from the examination. 

 

CANDIDATES WITH DISABILITIES 

In accordance with the provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act, examination administration modifications are available for 
candidates who qualify. Such candidates must obtain an official modification form from the Idaho State Board of Accountancy. Upon 
receipt of your requested accommodations, it will be considered and you will be notified in writing of the Board's decision. 
Documentation of a disability and/or previous accommodations must be attached to the exam application. Candidates must complete 
and submit this form every time that they apply for the examination and require special modifications. The completed forms must be 
returned to the Idaho State Board with all required documentation before scheduling. 

 

AUTHORIZATION TO TEST/NOTICE TO SCHEDULE  

Once your eligibility to take the exam is determined, the Board will send an Authorization to Test (ATT) to the National Candidate 
Database (NCD) at NASBA. Candidates will be billed by NASBA.  Fees must be paid to NASBA within 3 months after the ATT is 
sent.  After the fees are paid, NASBA will issue a Notice To Schedule (NTS). The NTS is sent to applicants via the contact preference 

indicated on the application form.  Utilizing the NTS, candidates are required to contact Prometric for site location(s) and test times.  For 
a list of the Prometric Testing Centers in Idaho, visit their web site at www.prometric.com. The Idaho State Board of Accountancy does 
not control space availability or locale of the testing centers.   
 

You should apply for sections you anticipate taking during a 6 month period.  NASBA will bill you for all sections that you 

indicate below, and issue an NTS for those sections after full payment.  The 6 month period begins the day NASBA 
receives your payment for the exam(s).  
 

If a candidate requires rescheduling to take the CPA examination, the candidate must contact Prometric. An eligible candidate has 6 
months from the date of the NTS, to schedule and sit for the exam. 
 

EXAMINATION SECTIONS 

    Section     Length 
Auditing and Attestation   4.0 hours 
Financial Accounting and Reporting  4.0 hours 
Regulation     3.0 hours (4 hours effective 4/1/2017) 
Business Environment and Concepts  3.0 hours (4 hours effective 4/1/2017) 

 
Candidates should plan to report to their assigned examination site 30 minutes before the start of each scheduled session. Detailed 
instructions concerning scheduling to test will be included on the Notice to Schedule (NTS). 

 
NON-DISCLOSED EXAMINATION 

The Uniform CPA Examination is a non-disclosed examination. This means that candidates cannot obtain copies of examination 
questions or of their own answer papers after the examination is administered. To protect the confidentiality of examination contents, 
candidates are required to acknowledge confidentiality statements at examination administrations in all locations. 
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CREDIT FOR SUBJECTS 

A candidate may take the required test sections individually and in any order.  Credit for any test section(s) passed shall be valid for 
eighteen (18) months from the actual date the candidate took that test section(s), without having to attain a minimum score on any 
failed test section(s) and without regard to whether the candidate has taken other test sections, provided that: 
 

a. Candidates must pass all four test sections of the CPA Examination within a rolling eighteen (18) month period, which begins 
on the date that the first test section(s) passed is taken; 

b. Candidates cannot retake a failed test section(s) in the same examination window; and 
c. Candidates who do not pass all four sections of the CPA Examination within the rolling eighteen (18) month period shall lose 

credit for any test section(s) passed outside the eighteen (18) month period and that test section(s) must be retaken. 
 

MATERIALS TO BE SUBMITTED 

First-time (and transfer) applicants must submit to the Idaho State Board of Accountancy: 
(1) Completed and signed initial application with a 2”x2” photograph attached; 
(2) $100 fee payable to the Idaho State Board of Accountancy; 
(3) Official transcript (or foreign evaluation) sent directly to the Board office from each academic institution at which credit toward the 
educational requirement was earned.   
(4)  Criminal History Records Check form (included with this packet).  Complete top portion.  The Board pays the processing fee.   

(5) Transfer candidates must complete an “Authorization for Interstate Exchange of Examination and Licensure Information” form 
available on our web site at www.isba.idaho.gov or you can receive a form by contacting the Board office. 

 
NAME OR ADDRESS CHANGE 

Any name or address change must be reported in writing to the Idaho State Board of Accountancy. Name changes must be 
accompanied by supporting documentation.   

 
ELIGIBILITY FOR EXAMINATION 

First-time (and transfer) applicants must: 
     • Be eighteen (18) years of age or older; 
     • Be a resident of Idaho, have been a resident, or intend to immediately become a resident of the State of Idaho with        
       the intention of remaining;  
     • Have good moral character (a form is provided.) This form is required to be signed and returned with your application.  
       A criminal background check is processed with the Idaho Department of Law Enforcement; and 
     • Have completed a Baccalaureate Degree with 30 or more semester hours in business administration subjects, of                            
       which at least 20 semester hours shall be in the study of accounting subjects.  If you have a combination of semester  
       credits and quarter hours, you can convert the quarter hours to semester credits by multiplying the quarter hours by 2  
       and then dividing by 3. 
 

Additional education requirements exist for licensure. 
Please contact the Board office or our web site www.isba.idaho.gov  for additional information. 

 

 
EVIDENCE OF QUALIFICATIONS 

Candidates must have completed the educational requirements at the time the application is filed.  Candidates must request official 
transcripts of all college work be sent directly from the college or university to the Board office.  Transcripts received with the application 
or marked "issued to student" and without the official seal will not be accepted.  All transcripts must contain a signature of the Registrar 
or some other official representative of the institution.  Transcripts must be received before authorization to take the examination is 
given.   
 

All applicants who submit an application dated 12/1/2015 or later, who have attended or graduated from a foreign 
school will be required to have a professional evaluation from NIES (NASBA International Evaluation Services) 

of their foreign transcript(s).  The transcript evaluation must show a course-by-course breakdown of accounting, 
business-related, and general education subjects.  It is the applicant's responsibility to ensure the  

timely submission of the evaluation.  
 

Idaho State Board of Accountancy 
Attn: Sandy Bly 
PO Box 83720 

Boise ID 83720-0002 
Phone: (208) 334-3584      Fax: (208) 334-2615 

Web Site:  isba.idaho.gov 
sandy.bly@isba.idaho.gov 
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INITIAL APPLICATION FOR UNIFORM CPA EXAMINATION 

 

FEE SCHEDULE: $100 (First-time and Transfer applicants) Make  
check or money order payable to the Idaho State Board of Accountancy. 
Fees will not be refunded or transferred to future examinations. 
The name on your application must match the name on your ID   
 
 
__________________  ______________________ _____________________   _________________________   ______ 
SSN                               First Name         Middle Name            Last Name               Suffix      
 

___________  _________________  _______________________ ___________________________  
DOB                     Place of birth:                      Mother’s Maiden Name                  Your Maiden Name/Previous Last Name                               
 

_____________   ______________  ____________  __________________  ___________________ 
Sex                       Height                    Weight                     Eye Color                     Hair Color 
 

___________________    __________________    ___________________    __________________ 
Home Phone             Work Phone          Cell Phone         Fax 
 

Mailing Address      Alternate Address 
 
In Care of:         _________________________________________     __________________________________________ 
 
Street1:            _________________________________________     __________________________________________ 
 
Street 2:           _________________________________________     __________________________________________  
 
City, State, Zip:  _________________________________________     __________________________________________ 
 
E-mail Address: _________________________________________     __________________________________________ 
 
You will be billed by NASBA for ALL sections you apply for and must pay for ALL sections indicated before you will be given 
the NTS (Notice to Schedule) - you will have six months from the date NASBA receives your payment to complete the sections 
– testing is not available the last month of each quarter.  Any fees paid for sections not completed will be forfeited.   
 

SELECT SUBJECTS TO BE TAKEN:    
 

 
______ AUD  Auditing and Attestation              

 
______ BEC  Business Environment & Concepts        

 
______ FAR  Financial Accounting & Reporting        

 
______ REG  Regulation 

        
   How do you prefer NASBA send your payment coupon and Notice to Schedule? 
 

                        Home mailing                E-mail 
 

 
 

 
 

IDAHO STATE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 
PO Box 83720 

Boise ID  83720-0002 
Phone (208) 334-2490 Fax (208) 334-2615 

E-Mail:  sandy.bly@isba.idaho.gov 
Web Site: www.isba.idaho.gov 

 

In this space, provide a   
 
2” x 2” passport type  
 
photograph taken within  
 
the last three months,  
 
showing your head and  
 
shoulders only. 

For Office Use Only 

 
Batch         _______________________ 
 
Sequence  _______________________ 
 
Date           _______________________ 
 
Check #     _______________________ 
 

Amount   $_______________________ 

 
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY:   ID COURTS / REPOSITORY 

      Record            No Record          __________      __________                                                                                                                              
                                                                                                            Initials                      Date 

 

mailto:sandy.bly@isba.idaho.gov
http://www.isba.idaho.gov/


Yes   No Are you a resident of the State of Idaho?  If yes, at what address and for what period of time have you resided in  

the State of Idaho?  
Address:                                                                                 Period of Time: _________________    
(If you intend to immediately become a resident, please enclose sufficient evidence of this intent.(Job, etc.)  

 
Yes   No  Is this the first time you are applying for the Uniform CPA Examination in Idaho?    

If NO, indicate the most recent date on which you took the examination  ________________ (Month/Year) 
 

Yes   No  Have you ever applied for the Uniform CPA Examination in another state? 

If YES, what state?___________________  When did you apply? ________________ (Month/Year) 
 

Yes   No  Are you transferring credit from that state? 

 
If credit is being transferred to Idaho, information must be submitted to Idaho by the state board from which the transfer is requested. 
The form is on our web site at www.isba.idaho.gov  

 

PERSONAL DATA:  If “Yes” to any of the following questions, state facts fully on a separate sheet and attach.  
 

Yes   No Have you ever: been charged with; pleaded guilty, no contest or nolo contendere to; been convicted or found guilty  

of; or been sentenced for any felony or misdemeanor (including withheld judgments) not previously disclosed to  

this Board in writing?  (Include traffic violations if felony or misdemeanor, but not infractions, such as speeding  
tickets.) If yes, provide factual description including date, court involved, disposition of case, whether disposition has  
been fully satisfied, and name and address of the office in possession of the record of the event. 

 
Yes   No   Have you had an application for license denied, or a license restricted, suspended, or revoked by any state or federal  

  agency or governing or licensing board ? 
 
Yes   No  Have you ever been charged with fraud, formally or informally, in any proceeding? 

 
Yes   No   Has your conduct ever been called into question with reference to the unethical practice of public accounting?   

 
Yes   No   Have you ever been censured, reprimanded, disciplined, suspended, disqualified or disbarred as a member of any  

profession or as a practitioner before any administration or agency, or have you ever been suspended or removed 
from any public or private office, because of conduct reflecting upon your character?     

 
Yes   No   Have you ever been denied any license or certificate that required the proof of good moral character? 

 
Yes   No  Have you previously passed the Uniform CPA Examination? If YES, what state?__________________________ 

 
Yes   No        Have you ever held a CPA Certificate and/or license?      If YES, what state?__________________________ 
 

EDUCATION:  Candidates must have completed the educational requirements before applying.  Candidates must request 

official transcripts to be sent directly from the college or university to the Board office.  Transcripts received with the application or 
marked "issued to student" and without the official seal will not be accepted.  All transcripts must contain a signature of the Registrar or 
some other official representative of the institution.  Transcripts must be received before authorization to take the examination is given. 

INSTITUTION 
NAME 

GRADUATION 
DATE  

DEGREE 
TYPE  

ACCOUNTING 
CREDITS 

BUSINESS 
CREDITS 

TOTAL  
CREDITS 

 

 

     

 

 

     

 
Candidates with Disabilities:  The Idaho State Board of Accountancy complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act.  Candidates who 
require modifications in the examination administration because of a disability should submit their request on a form provided by the Board.  To 
obtain the appropriate form, please contact Sandy Bly at (208) 334-3584 or download the form from our web site at www.isba.idaho.gov 
 
The Idaho State Board of Accountancy will review all requests for modifications in examination administrations.    To ensure equal opportunity 
for all qualified persons, the Board will make reasonable accommodations for candidates having disabilities that might affect their taking the 
CPA Exam.  The Board will not pay any cost you incur in obtaining the required diagnosis and recommendation.     
 
Applicant Signature:  I certify to the truth and accuracy of all statements, answers, and representations made in the foregoing application and 
in any supplementary statements.  I have read and understand the “Information For Initial Applicants.”   I understand that information provided 
on this application will be provided to NASBA as part of the overall administration of the National Uniform CPA Examination.   

 
 
__________________________________________   ____________________ 
Signature of Applicant      Date 

 
Mail application materials to:   Hand deliver applications to: 
Idaho State Board of Accountancy  Idaho State Board of Accountancy 
Attn: Sandy Bly    Attn:  Sandy Bly 
PO Box 83720    3101 W. Main St Ste 210 
Boise ID 83720-0002   Boise ID  83702     October 2016 
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IDAHO STATE POLICE 
BUREAU OF CRIMINAL IDENTIFICATION 

 
NAME BASED CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK FORM 
of the Idaho Central Repository of Criminal History Records 

 
A $20 processing fee must be included. Each field marked with an asterisk (*) must be completed. A separate form must be used for each request. 
Do not use staples on the forms. Make checks or money orders payable to the Idaho State Police. A personal check will only be accepted if issued by the 

requestor or requesting agency. A $20.00 fee will be charged for any returned checks. 
Please print clearly in blue or black ink only. Illegible forms will be returned for clarification. 

REQUEST 
Please provide an Idaho Criminal History on the individual named below. 

*Last Name                                                                  *First Name                                       *Middle Name 

Alias Names (Include Maiden/prior Married Names)  Please provide both first and last name. 
 
 
 
*Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) Social Security Number (optional) *Sex      *Race 

*Address 
 
 

*City *State *Zip 

WAIVER 
Idaho law does not require a waiver. However, without a signed waiver from the subject of the record, any arrest more than 12 months old, without a disposition, cannot be 
given to a non-criminal justice agency. Any waiver other than this waiver will not be accepted. 
 
I hereby give permission for the requester, named below, to receive any information maintained by the Idaho Bureau of Criminal Identification concerning myself.  

 
 
 
  *Signature                                                                                     *Date 
 

This signature on the waiver must be within 180 days of the name check submission. 
 

*TO BE COMPLETED BY COMPANY OR PERSON REQUESTING BACKGROUND INFORMATION *
Requesting Person or Company *
 
 
 

Address of Requester (Results will be mailed to this address)* 
 
Street______________________________________________________________ 
 
City, State & Zip Code ________________________________________________ 

Printed Name of Requester (Print Legibly) *
 
 

Signature of Requester *                                Phone Number of Requester *

 
General Information: 

Idaho law does not require a person to give consent. However, without a signed release from the subject of record, any arrest more than 12 months old, without a 
disposition, cannot be given to a non-criminal justice agency. Results of a Name Based Criminal Background check cannot be notarized. 
 
Criminal history record information furnished as a result of a non-fingerprint based computerized search is based solely on a search of identifiers provided in the request. Be 
aware it is not uncommon for criminal offenders to use alias names and false dates of birth, which would adversely affect the completeness and accuracy of a non-fingerprint 
based search of the Idaho Central Repository of Criminal History Records.  No other state or federal agency records can be searched under current law. The bureau does not 
telephone or fax responses. Please allow ample time for processing this request. Requests are processed on a first come basis. 
 
The records maintained by the Idaho Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) are based upon the felony and serious misdemeanor arrests reported to BCI from other Idaho 
criminal justice agencies. If a person disputes the accuracy of information obtained, that person may challenge the information by writing to the address on this form. 
 
Idaho code 67-3008 (6) states, “A person or private agency or public agency, other than the department, shall not disseminate criminal history record information obtained 
from the department to a person or agency that is not a criminal justice agency or court without a signed release of the subject of record unless otherwise provided by law. 
 

700 S. STRATFORD DR. STE. 120    MERIDIAN, ID 83642      
(208) 884-7130    FAX (208) 884-7193               Rev. 07/1/2016



Phone:  (208) 884-7130 
Fax:  (208) 884-7193 

700 S. Stratford Dr., Ste. 120 
Meridian, ID  83642 

Idaho State Police 
Bureau of Criminal Identification 

CREDIT CARD AUTHORIZATION FORM 

***Please note:  There is an additional processing fee of $1.00 plus 3% of the total transaction for all 
payments made by credit or debit card. *** 

 Credit Card (If paying by credit or debit card, complete the following)*

Credit Card Number:  -  -  - 

 Expiration Date:  / 

Visa  

  MasterCard  

  AmEx 

  Discover  

Name as it appears on card:

       Phone Number: 
       (Phone number required, in case we need clarification or have questions regarding payment) 

Name of applicant/subject(s) of record

Requestor/Agency

(Required before mailing or faxing) 
Electronic signatures will not be accepted 

Credit Card Type

Signature of Payee:

sburford
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sburford
Line

sburford
Line

sburford
Line

sburford
Line
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IDAHO STATE POLICE 
BUREAU OF CRIMINAL IDENTIFICATION 

 
NAME BASED CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK FORM 
of the Idaho Central Repository of Criminal History Records 

 
A $20 processing fee must be included. Each field marked with an asterisk (*) must be completed. A separate form must be used for each request. 
Do not use staples on the forms. Make checks or money orders payable to the Idaho State Police. A personal check will only be accepted if issued by the 

requestor or requesting agency. A $20.00 fee will be charged for any returned checks. 
Please print clearly in blue or black ink only. Illegible forms will be returned for clarification. 

REQUEST 
Please provide an Idaho Criminal History on the individual named below. 

*Last Name                                                                  *First Name                                       *Middle Name 

Alias Names (Include Maiden/prior Married Names)  Please provide both first and last name. 
 
 
 
*Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) Social Security Number (optional) *Sex      *Race 

*Address 
 
 

*City *State *Zip 

WAIVER 
Idaho law does not require a waiver. However, without a signed waiver from the subject of the record, any arrest more than 12 months old, without a disposition, cannot be 
given to a non-criminal justice agency. Any waiver other than this waiver will not be accepted. 
 
I hereby give permission for the requester, named below, to receive any information maintained by the Idaho Bureau of Criminal Identification concerning myself.  

 
 
 
  *Signature                                                                                     *Date 
 

This signature on the waiver must be within 180 days of the name check submission. 
 

*TO BE COMPLETED BY COMPANY OR PERSON REQUESTING BACKGROUND INFORMATION *
Requesting Person or Company *
 
 
 

Address of Requester (Results will be mailed to this address)* 
 
Street______________________________________________________________ 
 
City, State & Zip Code ________________________________________________ 

Printed Name of Requester (Print Legibly) *
 
 

Signature of Requester *                                Phone Number of Requester *

 
General Information: 

Idaho law does not require a person to give consent. However, without a signed release from the subject of record, any arrest more than 12 months old, without a 
disposition, cannot be given to a non-criminal justice agency. Results of a Name Based Criminal Background check cannot be notarized. 
 
Criminal history record information furnished as a result of a non-fingerprint based computerized search is based solely on a search of identifiers provided in the request. Be 
aware it is not uncommon for criminal offenders to use alias names and false dates of birth, which would adversely affect the completeness and accuracy of a non-fingerprint 
based search of the Idaho Central Repository of Criminal History Records.  No other state or federal agency records can be searched under current law. The bureau does not 
telephone or fax responses. Please allow ample time for processing this request. Requests are processed on a first come basis. 
 
The records maintained by the Idaho Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) are based upon the felony and serious misdemeanor arrests reported to BCI from other Idaho 
criminal justice agencies. If a person disputes the accuracy of information obtained, that person may challenge the information by writing to the address on this form. 
 
Idaho code 67-3008 (6) states, “A person or private agency or public agency, other than the department, shall not disseminate criminal history record information obtained 
from the department to a person or agency that is not a criminal justice agency or court without a signed release of the subject of record unless otherwise provided by law. 
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