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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ...

THE BOARD AND THE SOCIETY:
Some Basic Differences

Licensee responsibilities with regard to
the Board and the Society occasionally generate
confusion.  The following information lists out
some of the basic differences between the two
entities and how those differences impact Idaho
licensees.

The Board is the licensing and
regulatory body that grants the license to
practice as a Certified Public Accountant.  The
Society is the professional association.  CPAs
must be licensees of the Board and may be
members of the Society.  The license to practice
is renewed by the Board on a yearly basis.
Dues are paid annually to the Society for
membership.  The Board can suspend or revoke
your certification as a CPA or LPA for
violations of the Idaho Accountancy Act and
Rules.

   UPCOMING EVENTS

May 1 License Renewal Forms Mailed
May 6 & 7 Uniform CPA Examination
May 31 CPE Extension Deadline
July 1 License Renewal Deadline
July 1 Practice Unit Registration Forms

     Mailed
August 31 Practice Unit Registration Due

The Board requires 80 hours of
Continuing Professional Education every two
years to maintain a license.  A minimum of 30
hours and a maximum of 50 in any one calendar
year contribute to the 80 hours every two years.
The Society coordinates and makes available
numerous CPE classes to meet this educational
requirement.

The Board investigates complaints filed
against licensees.  It is the responsibility of a
licensee to respond to the Board’s investigation
into any such complaint.  By being aware of the
Idaho Accountancy Act and Rules, licensees
can avoid many of the circumstances that can
lead to a complaint.

The Board encourages its licensees to
contact this office with any questions.
Likewise, we encourage licensees to contact the
Idaho Society of CPAs at (208) 334-6261 with
any questions for that organization.
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Practice Unit Registration pg 5
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IDAHO STATE BOARD
OF

ACCOUNTANCY
LaVern Gentry, CPA
   Chair, Boise
   (208) 342-9361

Alan K. Van Orden, CPA
   Vice-Chair, Pocatello
   (208) 232-5471

Leonard R. Hodge, CPA
    Secretary, Coeur d' Alene
   (208) 765-9500

Samuel K. Cotterell, CPA
   Treasurer; Investigations, Boise
   (208) 384-7858

Curtis Pope, CPA
   Past-Chair, Burley
    (208) 678-3027

Donald C. Etter
   Public Member, Mtn Home
   (208) 587-2104

Larry Stewart, LPA
   LPA Member, Nampa
   (208) 466-1284

Board Office and Staff
1109 Main Street, Suite 470
Boise, Idaho        208-334-2490

  Fax       208-334-2615
  isba@boa.state.id.us

Barbara R. Porter
   Executive Director
bporter@boa.state.id.us

Sandy Gentry
   Office Manager
sgentry@boa.state.id.us

Chris Arthur
   Investigative Coordinator
carthur@boa.state.id.us

Kris Yettick

   CPE & QR Coordinator
kyettick@boa.state.id.us
LICENSE RENEWALS:  DON’T BE

   LATE!!

Licensees who fail to renew their licenses in a
timely manner will be assessed an administrative
penalty of up to $1,000 in addition to the late
fee of $50.  Any licensee suspended for
nonpayment of the annual renewal fee will be
assessed a renewal fee of up to $500 in addition
to an administrative fine of up to $1,000 when
or if they apply for reinstatement.  Remember to
pay your license renewal on time.

RENEWAL DUE DATE
is

JULY 1, 1998

INACTIVE STATUS
REQUESTS

If you are considering placing your license in an
inactive status, please note the following
reinstatement requirements from Idaho Rules:

Rule 518.03 Reinstatement.  Licensees who have
voluntarily suspended their license may apply for
reinstatement of their license by submitting appropriate
forms supplied by the Board and paying the applicable
fees.  The licensee must also complete 80 hours of
continuing professional education in the 12 months
prior to applying for reinstatement and must provide
appropriate documentation of the hours prior to the
issuance of a license.
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We have added a section to the annual license
renewal form for requesting inactive or retired

status.

CPE NEWS

1997 CPE REPORT:    In December 1997 CPE reports were mailed to 2,223 licensees.  72 licensees
requested inactive status for their license and 12  requested retired status as of June 30, 1998.

1998 CPE COMMITTEE MEETING:    The Continuing Professional Education Committee met on
March 5, 1998 at the Idaho Board of Accountancy office to perform random audits, review CPE
courses,  and discuss various CPE issues.  Several college courses were disallowed because they were
lower division courses.  If you are considering taking or instructing a college or university course,
please review the rules.  The course must be an upper division course to qualify for CPE.

Also disqualified was a leadership training program sponsored by the Boy Scouts of America.  If you
have any questions regarding CPE courses, please review the Idaho Accountancy Act, Subchapter F -
CPE.  If you need further assistance, please contact Kris Yettick, CPE Coordinator at the Board office.

SELF STUDY PROGRAMS:    The CPE Committee would like to remind licensees that non-
interactive self study courses will only qualify for credit equal to ½ of the average completion time
(100 minutes for each credit hour.)  One example of self study programs that would be considered non-
interactive would be the quizzer programs from the American Society of Continuing Education.  The
CPE Committee ruled that these quizzers will be eligible for only ½ credit.  If you are unsure of a
specific program, please contact the program’s sponsor for clarification of  their course.

Following is a copy of the Idaho Accountancy Rule Subchapter F - CPE, Rule 507.01.a-507.01.c. that
explains the difference between Interactive Self Study and Non-Interactive Self Study programs:

507. OTHER QUALIFYING PROGRAMS AND ACTIVITIES  (Rule 507).

01.  Programs.  The following will qualify as acceptable continuing education programs provided they meet the standards
outlined in Rule 505 and are properly reported, and comply with all other applicable requirements under these rules:

a.  Interactive-Self Study Programs:  A program designed to use interactive learning methodologies that simulate a
classroom learning process by employing software, other courseware, or administrative systems that provide significant ongoing,
interactive feedback to the learner regarding his or her learning progress.  Evidence of satisfactory completion of each program segment
by the learner is often built into such programs. These programs clearly define lesson objectives and manage the student through the
learning process by (1) requiring frequent student response to questions that test for understanding of the material presented, (2)
providing evaluative feedback to incorrectly answered questions, and (3) providing reinforcement feedback to correctly answered
questions. Therefore, capabilities are used that, based on student response, provide appropriate ongoing feedback to the student
regarding his or her learning progress through the program.  Interactive self-study programs should receive CPE credit equal to the
average completion time (50 minutes for each credit hour).

B.  Non-Interactive Self-Study Programs:  Any self-study program that does not meet the criteria for interactive self-study.
Non-interactive self-study programs should receive CPE credit equal to one-half of the average completion time (100 minutes for each
credit hour).

C.  Evidence.  Licensees claiming credit for such courses must obtain evidence of satisfactory completion of the course from
the program sponsor.  Credit will be allowed for the calendar year in which course is completed.
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SPECIAL RECOGNITION

1998 REINSTATED LICENSES

The Board would like to welcome back the
following licensees who have reinstated their Idaho
CPA license since June 1997:

Daniel M. Hodgkiss WY
John Millington ID
Laura S. Fry ID
Mary S. Gotsch ID
Craig F. Orton OR
Charles E. Hassard ID
David J. Dickinson ID

  In Memorial...  In Memorial...
Mr. Gilbert A. Stewart  PA- 4

“LPA Retired”

FROM THE IDAHO
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE

Anyone who extends, arranges, or takes
assignment of consumer credit is required by the
Idaho Credit Code to file notification with the
Department of Finance.  “Consumer credit” means
the transaction is for personal, family, or household
purposes.  To find out if this applies to you, or to
request an “Annual Notice of Intent do Business”
to file notification, please call the  Idaho

Department of Finance, ICC Division.  They can
be reached at (208) 332-8002.

NOVEMBER 1997 CPA EXAM 
STATISTICS

The following statistics were compiled for the
November 1997 Uniform CPA Examination for all
Idaho exam candidates:

          Total    #     %
            Tested    Passed     Passed

Audit 178  53   30%
Business Law 190  49   26%
Accounting & Reporting 178  34   19%
Financial Acctg & Report 177  61   34%

Passed in one sitting   16     7%
Passed after add’nal sitting(s)   25   12%
New Condition   27   13%
Additional Condition   14     6%
Failed 134   62%

Total Sitting 216 100%

Conditioned status is granted for passing at least
two sections with at least a 75% grade and having
at least a 50% in the two failed sections.  Once a
candidate has conditioned, he or she has the next
six consecutive given examinations to pass the
remaining subjects and successfully pass the exam.
If the candidate does not pass within the next six
exams, conditioned status is lost and the candidate
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must start over by sitting for all four sections of the
exam.

CONGRATULATIONS CANDIDATESCONGRATULATIONS CANDIDATES
JOB WELL DONE!JOB WELL DONE!

BOARD VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

CPA and LPA volunteers are important to the operations of
the Idaho State Board.  Volunteers provide the Board with a
broadened knowledge base, a more diverse perspective, and
creative energy.  Committee volunteers benefit by serving
with other outstanding licensees and by helping to define
and maintain a strong profession.

We are looking for volunteers for the following activities:

PRACTICE UNIT
REGISTRATION

The next practice unit registration period begins
July 1, 1998.  The State Board will take action
against licensees and firms who have not complied
with the rules and regulations regarding Practice
Unit Registration and Quality Review.  These
actions may include: administrative penalties;
revocation; suspension; or refusal to renew license.
Please refer to the Idaho Accountancy Act, Idaho
Code Section 54-219.  To avoid such penalties, we
ask that you comply with the registration
requirements in a timely manner.  If you have any
questions about the registration process, approved
administering organizations, or the Quality Review
rules and regulations, please contact this office.

Registration forms will be mailed to all licensees in
July 1998.

Uniform CPA Examination Proctors
We would appreciate CPA volunteers willing to assist
us with the May 6 & 7, 1998 exam proctoring.
Assistance is needed at the Boise and Pocatello
locations.

 To apply, contact Barbara Porter at (208) 334-2490 for
further information.
Please pass the word along to someone you know who may
be interested or has special knowledge in these areas.

PEER REVIEW INFORMATION

If your firm is required to have a peer review, you
must register with one of the following approved
Administering Organizations.  After registering
with the Administering Organization, you must
notify the Idaho State Board of Accountancy of
the review date assigned to your firm.

AICPA-SECPS 201-938-3031
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Idaho Society of CPAs 208-344-6261
Kansas Society of CPAs 913-267-6460
Montana Society of CPAs 406-442-7301
Nevada Society of CPAs 702-826-6800
National Society of Accountants 800-966-6679

           x-1320
Oregon Society of CPAs 503-641-7200
Texas Society of CPAs 972-687-8565
Washington Society of CPAs 206-644-4800

IDAHO STATE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY BULK RATE
THE OWYHEE PLAZA US POSTAGE
1109 MAIN ST STE 470     PAID
PO BOX 83720 Boise, ID
BOISE ID  83720-0002 Permit No1

Address Change?  Let Us Know!

Licensees, please check the mailing label on the upper half of this page.  Idaho Accountancy Rule 302
requires license holders to notify the Board in writing within 30 days of any change of address, business
connection, or employer.

Licensee Name ________________________________________________

Employer Name ____________________________    New?  ÿ  Yes   ÿ  No

License # _____________      Daytime Phone (        ) __________________

New Mailing Address ___________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________

City __________________________ State _____________  Zip _________
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Signature ________________________ Date _______

Mail to: Idaho State Board of Accountancy
PO Box 83720
Boise, Idaho  83720-0002


